The Georgia Regional Transportation Authority (GRTA) is a state-level authority that addresses mobility and air quality in metro Atlanta.  In 2017, GRTA and State Road and Tollway Authority (SRTA) became administratively attached and began providing the services of both state authorities.  As such, all functions for both authorities are provided by the staff and leadership of SRTA.

GRTA’s jurisdiction encompasses 13 Georgia counties: Cherokee, Clayton, Coweta, Cobb, DeKalb, Douglas, Fayette, Forsyth, Fulton, Gwinnett, Henry, Paulding, and Rockdale.  Under state law and via executive order, GRTA approves the allocation of state and federal transportation resources in metro Atlanta via the Atlanta Transportation Improvement Program (TIP), the federally-required planning process that allocates funds to the highest-priority, near-term transportation projects.  Additionally, GRTA is responsible for evaluating all Developments of Regional Impact (DRIs) within its jurisdiction for their impacts on the surrounding transportation infrastructure.

GRTA’s Legislation

GRTA’s duties and responsibilities are specified in the Official Code of Georgia Annotated in Title 50, Chapter 32. (OCGA §50-32-1 to §50-32-71). The Governor’s Development Council duties and responsibilities are specified in the Official Code of Georgia Annotated in Title 45, Chapter 12. (OCGA §45-12-200 to §45-12-207).
Scroll to Top